WINNR
Comparison

WINNR vs Fortify (2026): Fortify Review and Comparison

WINNR vs Fortify, checked October 2026. Is Fortify free, what Premium costs, store ratings, what it collects, teletherapy and allies, and who fits which.

Prices, ratings and privacy details checked on 25 October 2026.

The short answer: pick Fortify if you want a free tier you can start tonight, a dashboard that lets a trusted person follow your progress, and a route to licensed therapists inside the same company. Pick WINNR if you want your data kept in the EU, a counter that keeps your history after a slip, a matched accountability partner, and a lower yearly price in euro. WINNR launches on iOS and Android in December 2026, so until then it is a waiting list, not an app on your phone.

WINNR publishes this comparison. We have tried to be fair; every claim about Fortify links to its source, and we apply the same privacy, pricing and evidence questions to ourselves as to Fortify.

At a glance

WINNRFortify
Built forMen aged 15 to 35 who want to regain control over porn useMen and women of any age; teens from 13 with a scholarship
Main jobUrge timer, counter, partner, coach, psychologist accessTraining videos, tracker, journal, SOS, allies, community, coaching, teletherapy
Who is in controlYou; nobody sees your data unless you message a partnerYou; you choose what each ally sees
Human supportPsychologists, coaches, support workers (in development); matched partnerAllies; coaches and peer groups (paid extra); teletherapy with licensed therapists
BlockerClassic blocker ready; social-media blur in developmentNone
Price per year49 euro (29 euro first year for the first 100 on the waitlist)89.99 US dollars (US App Store); 99.99 euro (Austrian App Store)
Data locationEU servers; AI coach messages go to the US only if you opt inNot stated; publisher in Logan, Utah
Free tierNo; the 4-minute check and plan are freeYes; Premium unlocks full training, analytics, allies and forum
Available nowWaiting list; launch December 2026Yes, App Store, Google Play and web

Fortify review: what it is and how it works

Who makes it

Fortify is published by Impact Collective, LLC, the seller on the App Store and on Google Play, with the address 1525 W 2960 S, Logan, Utah. The company also trades as Impact Suite, whose about page lists Clay Olsen as CEO and founder. Olsen co-founded Fight the New Drug, and Fortify grew out of that organisation's requests for help, per a 2018 interview; Fortify's FTND page still describes an exclusive collaboration. A November 2020 press release calls Impact Collective a Certified B Corporation with four apps: Lift, Turn, Climb and Fortify. The first Fortify course launched in 2013, per the about page; the iOS app appeared on 3 November 2017, per Apple's listing data.

How it works

You sign up with an email address (a pseudonym is allowed), take an assessment, and get a personal Freedom Plan. Per the about page and the App Store description, the features are:

  • Daily tracker. Log victories and setbacks, with weekly and monthly check-ins. Premium adds pattern analysis.
  • Training videos and challenges. Week 1 is free; the full set and webinar library are Premium.
  • Journal and SOS. Both free. SOS is for the moment an urge hits.
  • Allies. People you invite to see your shared data and message you; unlimited on Premium. The 2018 interview describes a dashboard where an ally sees progress, and says you choose what each ally sees.
  • Community. A daily discussion is free; the full forum is Premium.
  • Coaching, peer groups and teletherapy. Coaching and groups cost extra. The App Store description lists teletherapy, and Impact Suite describes its resources as courses, wellness coaches and licensed therapists in a Silicon Slopes podcast listing.

Fortify runs on iOS 12 or later, iPadOS, Macs with Apple silicon, Apple Vision, Android and the web, in English only. There is no content blocker.

What Fortify says about itself

The App Store description says tens of thousands of people have used the app. The 2018 interview quoted over 100,000 participants, an 84 percent decline in depressive symptoms and an 88 percent reduction in porn use, all from the company's own surveys, with no method given. The same test applies to WINNR: WINNR has no user count or outcome figure to publish, and says so.

Fortify pricing, free trial and ratings (as of October 2026)

Is Fortify free? Partly. The about page says Basic access is free for everyone, all the time: tracker, Week 1 of training, journal, SOS, daily discussion and the professional directory. Everything else is Premium. Teens aged 13 to 17 can apply for a free scholarship, per the Impact Suite terms. Fortify's pricing page did not load for us on 25 October 2026, so the figures below come from the stores.

Plan (checked 25 October 2026)US App StoreAustrian App Store
Monthly Subscription12.00 US dollars14.00 euro
Annual Subscription89.99 US dollars99.99 euro
Forever Access199.99 US dollars229.99 euro

Sources: the US and Austrian App Store listings. Google Play shows no price range. Coaching, groups and therapy are charged separately; no price for them is published on the pages we could read.

An Austrian reviewer in June 2025 (4 stars) noted that 99.99 euro is well above 89.99 dollars at the exchange rate of the time. The price has also moved: an October 2022 article listed Premium at 9.95 dollars a month, 99 a year or 199 once. Refunds are not guaranteed; the terms say requests are decided case by case. Cancel from the billing page in your profile, or through Apple or Google if you subscribed there.

Store ratings, checked 25 October 2026:

  • App Store (US): 4.7 stars from 3,212 ratings, age rating 12+, per Apple's listing data. Latest version 5 March 2026.
  • Google Play: 3.7 stars from about 3,600 reviews, 100K+ downloads, last updated 29 August 2025, per the Play listing.
  • Trustpilot: no profile with reviews could be found. Too small to use.

The gap between 4.7 on iOS and 3.7 on Android is the widest we have seen in this category; the Android complaints below explain most of it.

WINNR, for the same test: 9 euro a month or 49 euro a year, published on winnr.now. The first 100 waiting-list members pay 29 euro for the first year. No free tier, although the 4-minute check and the plan are free. No store ratings yet, because the app is not in the stores until December 2026.

Privacy and data

Both apps ask you to type in things you would not say out loud. Here is what each says it does with that, using the same five questions.

Fortify

The store listings point to joinfortify.com/privacy, which did not load for us. The publisher's current policy is the Impact Suite privacy policy, updated 19 September 2026, which covers Impact Collective's apps without naming Fortify.

What is collected. Account details, demographics, wellness and sexual-health information, journal and tracker entries, community content, AI conversations, coaching details, subscription, device and usage data, IP-derived location, and identifiers. The App Store privacy label declares health, purchases, contact info, user content, identifiers and sensitive info as linked to you; nothing is declared as used to track you. The Google Play listing says the app collects location, personal info and four other data types, and contains ads.

Who can see it. Fourteen named processors, including Amazon Web Services (S3 and Bedrock), Zendesk, Mixpanel, Google Analytics, Stripe and Firebase. Advertising technologies are used on some websites, with an opt-out by email. Google Play says personal info and device IDs are shared with third parties. If an employer or school pays for your access, it may receive reports that can be individual-level, including programme progress and tracker activity. Groups and coaches see only your username.

Where it is stored. Not stated. The policy gives a Utah address and names AWS without a region, and does not mention international transfers, GDPR or standard contractual clauses. An EU user should assume US storage.

Retention and deletion. Kept while the account is active; logs 30 days, security records and identifiable analytics 90 days, support tickets 12 months, backups up to 90 more days. To delete, email info@impactsuite.com with the subject "Account deletion request" or use Settings, Account, Delete Account, Contact Support; deletion from active systems within 30 days, backups within 120. Deactivation is not deletion. No data protection officer is named.

Reported incident. None found for Fortify or Impact Collective, which counts for something in a product live since 2017.

WINNR

What is collected. The privacy notice (updated 4 July 2026, marked as pending formal legal review) lists your email, a display handle, subscription status and a Stripe customer reference; and, as special-category data, your questionnaire answers, goals, urge events, counter history, journal entries, community posts, partner messages and AI coach messages. No card details are stored. The website uses no cookies or IP logging.

Who can see it. Supabase (database and sign-in, AWS Stockholm), Hetzner (hosting, Germany), Brevo (email, France), Stripe (payments, US and Ireland), Google (only if you use Google sign-in). If you opt in to the AI coach, your coach messages go to OpenRouter with a DeepSeek model in the United States, under zero-retention terms and standard contractual clauses. That is the honest exception to "EU only", and you can use WINNR without the coach. No employer or school reporting, no ally dashboard.

Where it is stored. EU servers, with the AI coach exception above.

Retention and deletion. Kept while your account is open; unused accounts deleted after 12 months; payment records kept seven years under Dutch tax law. Delete everything from Settings, actioned immediately; coach data is exportable. Other requests to winnr.now@gmail.com, one-month response. No DPO yet; Chino.io will be appointed at launch.

Reported incident. None. WINNR has not launched, so this is a policy, not a track record. Fortify's nine years without a reported incident is worth more than our promise.

Who is behind it

Fortify

Impact Collective, LLC, Logan, Utah, also trading as Impact Suite. Clay Olsen is CEO and founder and co-founded Fight the New Drug. The Impact Suite about page lists a team of eleven, including Zach Johnson (VP of Product) and Holley Jeppson (Wellness Director), plus twelve advisors, most from schools. The company now sells mainly to schools, employers and public agencies, with Fortify as its individual-facing product. Support is by email at info@joinfortify.com.

WINNR

WINNR is made by Stichting Extraordinary Life (KvK 75069385), a Dutch foundation in Rotterdam. The founder is NJ (Nicolaas van Disseldorp), a coach and researcher. The team of six includes a CTO, a founding engineer, a lead writer with a background in work and organisational psychology, and two practical-interventions consultants, one who previously built group-therapy protocols at a treatment centre and one with a health psychology background. Bios are at winnr.now/about.html. WINNR won Impacthon (PLNT, Leiden) in September 2026. Contact is winnr.now@gmail.com.

What real users say about Fortify

We read recent reviews on both stores on 25 October 2026. These are paraphrased themes, not quotes, and store reviews are self-selected. Play review dates were available to us; US App Store dates were not, so those themes are undated.

Recurring praise

  • The free tier and the tracker. A March 2026 Play reviewer (5 stars) praised how much the free version includes and the free access for teens. An April 2026 Play reviewer (5 stars) credited the app with real help.
  • Community. App Store reviewers call it supportive and judgement-free, and several describe the app as a good supplement to therapy.
  • The team. The June 2025 Austrian reviewer called the developers thoughtful and careful, despite the euro price.

Recurring complaints

  • Login problems. Play reviewers in August 2025 (password reset loop), October 2025 (could not create an account) and January 2026 (could not set country and time zone) were locked out before they started.
  • The paywall moving. An April 2026 Play reviewer (2 stars) said features had gone behind the paywall and the app lagged.
  • Privacy and ads. A May 2026 Play reviewer (1 star) objected to a recovery app sharing data with third parties for advertising. A March 2026 reviewer found deleting the account difficult.
  • Journal bugs. App Store reviewers report entries failing to save and text hidden while typing. Several asked for a journal export.

Recent Play reviews skew low: a third-party mirror showed a recent average of 2.6 against the all-time 3.7 in October 2026, per chrome-stats. The Android app was last updated in August 2025; the iOS app in March 2026.

Head-to-head

FeatureWINNRFortify
Progress trackingCounter keeps your full history after a slipDaily tracker of victories and setbacks; analytics on Premium
Urge help in the momentUrge timer with short coping stepsSOS button (free)
AI supportAI coach on ACT and CBT, opt-in, not a therapistAI Coach via Amazon Bedrock, per the publisher policy
Human supportMatched partner; psychologist sessions in developmentAllies; coaching and groups (paid extra); licensed teletherapy
Someone else can follow your progressNoYes, allies see what you choose to share
BlockerClassic blocker ready; social-media blur in developmentNone
EducationLessons ready; videos in developmentWeek 1 free; full videos and webinars on Premium
CommunityAnonymous communityDaily discussion free; forum on Premium
ScreeningFree 4-minute check using the PPCS-6Assessment at sign-up; monthly check-ins
PlatformsiOS and Android from December 2026iOS, iPadOS, Mac, Apple Vision, Android, web
AgeBuilt for men from 15Adults 18+; teens 13 to 17 with a scholarship
Store ratingsNone yet4.7 App Store (3,212), 3.7 Google Play (about 3,600)
Price per year49 euro89.99 US dollars or 99.99 euro; free tier
Data locationEU, with opt-in US processing for the AI coachNot stated; US publisher

Fortify's teletherapy is a real advantage, and we want to be plain about it: Fortify can connect you with a licensed therapist today, while WINNR's sessions with supervised junior psychologists are still in development. The practical difference over a year is where your journal lives, whether a slip wipes your history, whether someone else can watch your progress, and what you pay once the free week of training runs out.

What the research says

Be careful with every company's claims, ours included. A 2022 content analysis in JMIR Formative Research reviewed 170 apps for problematic pornography use and found that none cited direct evidence of effectiveness or safety. That applies to Fortify, whose published figures come from its own surveys, and it applies to WINNR. WINNR's science page says so in plain words: nobody has yet checked whether WINNR itself works, and a controlled study is planned after launch.

Fortify describes its programme as based on research into therapeutic lifestyle change, per its about page. WINNR builds on Acceptance and Commitment Therapy with CBT elements, self-monitoring with goal setting and feedback, and if-then plans; the screener is the PPCS-6, a validated six-item scale. The team also draws on the Dual Control Model of sexual response (Bancroft and Janssen) to understand how urges rise and fall, as a model to design around rather than as proof that WINNR works.

Neither app is a treatment, therapy or crisis service. If porn use is seriously hurting your life, a licensed therapist is worth adding to either app, and Fortify makes that step shorter.

When WINNR is the better choice

  • You want your journal kept in the EU, with a named processor list and a delete button that works immediately rather than an email and a 30-day wait.
  • You have slipped before and want a counter that keeps your history.
  • You do not want anyone else, including a parent or partner, to have a window into your progress.
  • You want no ads and no employer or school reporting.
  • You want a matched accountability partner rather than one you recruit yourself.
  • You pay in euro and want the lower yearly price: 49 euro against 99.99 euro.
  • You can wait until December 2026, or you want to join now at the founding price.

When Fortify is the better choice

  • You need something tonight and do not want to pay yet. The free tier gives you a tracker, a journal, SOS and Week 1 of training.
  • You want a trusted person to follow your progress from a dashboard you control.
  • You want a route to a licensed therapist inside the same product.
  • You want a web version, or you use an iPad or Mac.
  • You are a woman, or a man outside 15 to 35.
  • You are 13 to 17 and can apply for a free scholarship.
  • You value nine years without a reported data incident over a newer app's policy.

How to switch from Fortify, or use both

If you are moving to WINNR

  1. Join the WINNR waiting list at winnr.now by taking the free 4-minute check. Your place and the founding price are reserved by email.
  2. Copy what matters out of Fortify. There is no journal export, so copy your Freedom Plan and the journal entries that taught you something into a private note first.
  3. Tell your allies. If someone follows your progress in Fortify, agree how you will stay accountable afterwards. WINNR has no ally dashboard; its partner is a peer matched to you.
  4. Cancel at the source. Web subscribers use the billing page in their profile; Apple or Google subscribers cancel in their phone's subscription settings. Deleting the app does not cancel billing.
  5. Delete your Fortify account. Email info@impactsuite.com with the subject "Account deletion request", or use Settings, Account, Delete Account, Contact Support. Ask for written confirmation.
  6. Keep a blocker in the gap. Use Screen Time's adult-site limit on iPhone or Private DNS with a family filter on Android, and give the passcode to someone you trust. Our guide to the best porn blocker apps covers the free options.

If you want to use both

  • Fortify for the free training, the ally dashboard and the therapist route.
  • WINNR for the counter that keeps your history, the matched partner, and the psychologist sessions once they open.
  • Pick one app as your official counter so one slip does not become two bad days in two apps.
  • Decide what you are willing to type into each app, knowing where each one stores it.

Key takeaways

  • Fortify is a live app (since 2017) with a genuine free tier, an ally dashboard, paid coaching and groups, and licensed teletherapy; Premium costs 12 dollars a month, 89.99 a year or 199.99 once on the US App Store, and 14, 99.99 or 229.99 euro in the EU.
  • Fortify rates 4.7 on the App Store (3,212 ratings) but 3.7 on Google Play (about 3,600), where recent reviews describe login failures, a moving paywall and ads.
  • Fortify's publisher policy names fourteen processors, allows ads and employer reporting, gives no storage region and does not mention GDPR; no data incident has been reported.
  • WINNR costs 9 euro a month or 49 euro a year, keeps data in the EU except for opt-in AI coach messages, keeps your history after a slip, and has no ads, allies or third-party reporting.
  • WINNR is not in the stores until December 2026, its psychologist sessions are still in development, and like Fortify it has no published evidence that it works.

FAQ

Is Fortify free?

Partly. Basic access is free and includes the daily tracker, a journal, SOS, Week 1 of training, the daily discussion and a professional directory. The full training, analytics, allies and forum need Premium, listed on the US App Store at 12 dollars a month, 89.99 a year or 199.99 once in October 2026. Coaching, groups and therapy cost extra. Teens aged 13 to 17 can apply for a free scholarship.

Is Fortify worth it?

If you want structured video training and a person watching your progress, many users say yes; the App Store average is 4.7 from 3,212 ratings. On Android it is 3.7 from about 3,600, with recent complaints about logins, paywalled features and ads. Try the free tier for two weeks before paying.

Does Fortify block porn?

No. Fortify has no content blocker, browser extension or filter. For blocking, use your phone's built-in limits or a dedicated blocker alongside it. WINNR has a classic blocker ready and a social-media blur in development.

Is my data safe with Fortify?

Fortify says it does not share your information with other users, and we found no reported breach since 2017. Its publisher's September 2026 policy lists fourteen processors, uses advertising technologies on some sites, allows reports to a sponsoring employer or school, and names no storage region or EU safeguards. Google Play says personal info and device IDs are shared with third parties. Decide for yourself what you are willing to type into it.

Is WINNR better than Fortify?

Today, Fortify is the only one you can download, and it has a free tier and licensed teletherapy that WINNR does not. From December 2026, WINNR offers EU data storage, a counter that keeps your history after a slip, a matched accountability partner, no ads, and 49 euro a year against Fortify's 99.99 euro. Neither app has published evidence that it works.

Can I use WINNR and Fortify together?

Yes. Fortify for the free training, the ally dashboard and the therapist route; WINNR for the counter, partner and psychologist sessions once they open. Keep one app as your main counter.

Want a plan for your own pattern? Take the private 4-minute check. Fighting an urge right now? Open the urge page.

A note on what this is

WINNR makes this comparison and has a commercial interest in it. Prices, ratings and policies were checked on 25 October 2026 and can change; check the linked sources before you pay. This page is educational. It is not a diagnosis and it is not medical advice. WINNR is not a treatment or therapy. If porn use is seriously affecting your life, speak to a licensed professional; if you are in crisis, contact your local emergency services.

Sources

  1. Fortify homepage (body did not load)
  2. Fortify about page
  3. Fortify pricing page (body did not load)
  4. Fortify FAQ (body did not load)
  5. Fortify for FTND
  6. Fortify privacy page (body did not load)
  7. Impact Suite privacy policy, updated 19 September 2026
  8. Impact Suite terms of use
  9. Impact Suite about page
  10. Fortify on the US App Store
  11. Apple lookup data for id 1304648824
  12. Fortify on the Austrian App Store
  13. Fortify on Google Play
  14. Chrome-stats mirror of Google Play reviews
  15. Justuseapp mirror of App Store reviews
  16. Utah Business, 24 November 2020
  17. Defend Young Minds, 20 March 2018, interview with Clay Olsen
  18. Fight the New Drug, 17 October 2022, on Fortify
  19. Silicon Slopes podcast listing with Clay Olsen
  20. JMIR Formative Research 2022, content analysis of 170 apps
  21. WINNR homepage
  22. WINNR about page
  23. WINNR privacy notice
  24. WINNR science page
  25. WINNR costs 9 euro a month or 49 euro a year. Join the waiting list at winnr.now.
  26. ---